Posted by: Ken | June 14, 2010

Thought of the Day: Being Methodical

Well, I think I might have finally found a way to be more consistent in my blogging.  Since I have something in mind each day, it shouldn’t be hard to share something each day.  Call if ‘bits of wisdom’ or just thoughts – whatever.  In any case, I hope whoever reads this will gain something from it.  Maybe I’ll compile this for a book or something.  Or just come up with some catchy sayings like Pastor Rick Warren does (he’s been saving his little bits of wisdom for years and is now releasing them via Twitter.).  Anywho …

Thought for today.  About being methodical.  I think it’s easy for any of us to just go each day without a clear aim.  Just taking care of what comes along.  Just doing stuff.  I don’t know how to describe it better.  But, I suppose I should skip to the point.  Each day we should be strategic, methodical.  Know clearly what our goals are for the day.  Know clearly what our goals are for the week, and then move forward to executing them.  Reminds me of what the late John Wooden had said – “Make each day your masterpiece.”  Also, I am reminded of something Michael Hyatt (CEO of Thomas Nelson) had said – … well, I can’t quote it exactly, but he basically said … or just a sec.  Let me find the actual quote so I don’t slaughter the message.  =)

OK.  Nevermind.  I couldn’t find it.  Starting to wonder now if it was really Hyatt who said it. Anyway, the advice was to not end up just doing what others present as important, but to do what you determine to be important.  I, for example, get a lot of requests for this or that to be done. And often times it takes away from what I need to do.

OK, this entry is starting to get long and disorganized.  Ironic considering the topic.

So – to get to the point:  Make your goals clear.  And go after them! =)

(this post was really, really, really ironic)

And one more thing:  Stay away from bunny trails.  Might get you lost.  =)


Leave a comment

Categories